The Pender Times | Pender, Nebraska
Advanced Search
Contact Us
Pender Times Top Stories
Dakota County Star Top Stories
• Dakota County Star Top Stories
Pender Times Video
Pender Map
Comprehensive Plan
Economic Dev.
Local Government
Local History

Latest Pender, Nebraska, weather Pender, Nebraska, weather forecast

Latest South Sioux City, Nebraska, weather South Sioux City, Nebraska, weather forecast

home : dakota county star top stories : dakota county star top stories
October 19, 2018

Candidates begin filing for 2018 election
Michelle Kuester
Dakota County Star Editor

It's an election year and the clerk's office at the Dakota County Courthouse has been busy with filings from new candidates and incumbents seeking out another term.

South Sioux City Mayor Rod Koch has filed for re-election and as of press time Tuesday, he remains uncontested. There are four spots open on the South Sioux City City Council and incumbents Bruce Davis and John Sanders have filed to remain in their positions. Newcomers Michael O'Brien and Gary Hallstrom have also thrown their hats into the race. Dennis Nelson and Jack Ehrich have not yet filed for re-election as their term is also up this year.

The South Sioux City School Board has three spots up for re-election and two incumbents, Kevin O'Dell and Marcia Mahon, have filed. Janice Hohenstein, the third board member whose term is up this year, has not yet filed. There are not yet any new candidates in this race.

In Dakota City, there will be two city council positions opening up as Andrew Backman and James Varvais's terms have ended. At this point, only Backman has filed for re-election and there are not yet any new candidates.

Ponca, Allen, Emerson-Hubbard and Homer each have three open spots on their school board this term but no one has filed yet. Ponca's incumbents are Kenton Book, John Gill and Richard Dohma. Allen's are Jason Olesen, Dawn Oswald and Jay Jackson. Emerson-Hubbard's are Kip Ahlers, Tarry Daum, and MaryAnn Lussier. Finally, the Homer School Board incumbents are Paul Tighe, Tim Murphy, and Carrie Vanschoiack.

On the county level, there will be several places to vote on the ballot. Dakota County residents will be voting in two county commissioners as Scott Love and Bill Rohde's terms are up. Neither have yet filed for re-election, but former commissioner Richard McNear has put his name in the race. Additionally, Ron Hartnett and Larry Albenesius have filed.

Several county offices are up for re-election without filings by incumbents or newcomers. They are county assessor (incumbent Jeff Curry), clerk of district court (incumbent Phyllis Obermeyer), public defender (incumbent Louvontree Hunter, sheriff (Chris Kleinberg), and surveyor (currently appointed Tim Lamprecht.)

County attorney Kimberly Watson has filed for re-election, as have county clerk Joan Spencer and treasurer Robert Giese. All three are uncontested at this time.

The deadline for incumbents to file is Feb. 15, while new filers have until March 1. The primary election will be held May 15 and the general election will take place Nov. 6.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the website. Each submission must be approved by the website editor who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the website editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

The Pender Times on Facebook


Sturek Media, Inc.
Copyright 2017  All Rights Reserved 


Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved